Action height question

OffHeGoes29OffHeGoes29 Posts: 1,240
edited February 2010 in Musicians and Gearheads
I got some pickups installed on my Mexican Strat and the guy who installed them said my action is really high. I started playing about three years ago and bought this strat new, it had bad fret buzz right out of the box so I adjusted the height until it stopped.

My question is this, will it affect my playing? I'm still new at this and I'm really comfortable with the current height. He also told me that the only way to stop it is getting fret work done. I think hes just trying to get me to spend more money so I'm a little suspicious that it will fix my problem.
BRING BACK THE WHALE
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Fret work might help, to be honest. Personally, if I had the money, I'd get the guitar "set up" since it's new. Get the intonation and action set for ya. The main thing you want to focus on is how YOU like the guitar and action and what YOU like. If you like high action, keep it.
    Grand Rapids '04, Detroit '06
    JEFF HARDY AND JEFF AMENT USED TO LOOK THE SAME
    "Pearl Jam always eases my mind and fires me up at the same time.”-Jeff Hardy
  • I'd second that. If you like the action the way it is, keep it.
    But in case you want to change it:
    Have you tried adjusting the neck? Like truss rod and/or neck angle adjustments? I'd bet that would help more than having fretwork done. And even if it doesn't, it's still a lot cheaper and can be reversed. So i'd say, if you haven't done that already (which I hope your guy has before proposing having fretwork done), look into adjusting the neck first.
  • OffHeGoes29OffHeGoes29 Posts: 1,240
    I'd second that. If you like the action the way it is, keep it.
    But in case you want to change it: