First time playing with a drummer

OffHeGoes29OffHeGoes29 Posts: 1,240
edited March 2010 in Musicians and Gearheads
My friend from work has played drums for some time, and invited me over to play at his house. I've been playing guitar for about three years now and have started lessons last month. So feeling pretty confident about my playing ability at my level, I didn't think it would be that hard to play with a drummer....well I was wrong. I had a lot of fun, but I had a hard time keeping my amp loud enough to play over the drumming, not only that, I sound really shitty with the vol. turned up, it really highlighted my fuck ups. I also noticed that my tempo was off between verses in a song.

It really never hit me how difficult it really can be, my friend is good guy for dealing with my sloppy playing. I really want to continue playing with other people, but it really put me in my place as to my skill level.
BRING BACK THE WHALE
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Having been in a few bands, and being a drummer, guitarist, bassist, pianist, etc. one thing that makes an INCREDIBLE difference is how well you know the people you are playing with. In high school (I'm a junior in college), I started a band with 3 other guys, all 3 being some of my best friends, having know them for a long while. I originally started with vocals, then went to drums b/c we couldnt find a drummer. We never ran into the issue of having all of us mesh with our playing. Obviously we had to practice to fine tune our material, such as our cover of Even Flow, but because we had all known each other for so long, we were all very comfortable with what we could and could NOT do, and it made the experience MUCH easier and more fun.