Open Mic Nights

inlet13inlet13 Posts: 1,979
edited February 2010 in Musicians and Gearheads
Where I live, a number of bars have these to showcase and book talent. I'd like to get paid for this at night, since I love music and I have a kid on the way. But, I've never done a open mic before, and I'm quite nervous to play in front of people who will actually be listening.

So, on that note, I'll toss out a couple questions...

1. If you are allowed 3 to 4 songs,... how many covers (if any) would you play? How many originals? Do you advise all upbeat songs or should you toss in a ballad?

2. If you've gone to one of these before, does anyone ever show up solo? Meaning, my wife is pregnant, she probably doesn't want to go out to this... would it be weird to go solo or should I try to bring a friend along since it's my first time?
Here's a new demo called "in the fire":

<object height="81" width="100%"> <param name="movie" value="https://player.soundcloud.com/player.swf?url=http://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/28998869&quot;&gt;&lt;/param&gt; <param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param> <embed allowscriptaccess="always" height="81" src="https://player.soundcloud.com/player.swf?url=http://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/28998869&quot; type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="100%"></embed> </object> <span><a href=" - In the Fire (demo)</a> by <a href="
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• mfc2006mfc2006 Posts: 37,412