About to buy first guitar... need help

Dark StarDark Star Posts: 496
edited December 2009 in Musicians and Gearheads
Ughhh, this guitar buying business is difficult, so many options! I want to spend under $300 though since I am a beginner. This dude is offering me a mexican fender strat 'satin series' with new parts for $250. Or he has a PRS santana-se with armstrong pickups also for $250. Then I saw some stuff on guitar center for under $200, like an Ephiphone SG.

I don't know shit about guitars, any advice would be appreciated. thanks!
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Generally, you'll get a better deal on a used guitar in fair condition (not abused, etc) than you will on a "beginner" or "entry-level" guitar brand-new. Think of it this way: a used guitar is already used, and therefor has depreciated already. Unless it becomes damaged or altered in any significant way (think bad paintjobs, stickers, abnormal wear-and-tear, etc) it should be worth as much in two years as it is when you buy it now. A used "beginner" guitar is basically worthless, because they were terrible instruments to begin with. Nobody wants to pay anything for a guitar that cost you $200 new. But I would pay $250 for a Mexi Strat that you bought used for $250.

The other thing is, if it was a decent instrument to begin with, a few years of normal use shoudn't diminish the playability of a guitar. After ten or fifteen years, you may need new frets, or some re-wiring, if it was used a lot (played for at least 10 hours a week every week). There are guys playing 20-year-old guitars all over the place with no problems.