over produced?

denverchefdenverchef Posts: 11
edited December 2009 in The Porch
I see so many times people like to say "overproduced" and "too slick" when describing certain albums, Backspacer to be precise....I understand the concept being a musician myself, but i'm wondering what everyone's interpretation is of "over produced"? i mean, what is it you're looking for? garage sound?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• i_lov_iti_lov_it Posts: 4,007
    Yeah I'm trying to GRASP! that 'PHRASE' too! :roll:
  • HeavyHandsHeavyHands Posts: 2,130
    I think in general it refers to the listener perceived over-use of studio techniques, effects, and/or overdubbing to produce a sound that is not consistent with a musician's live performance sound.

There is a big movement amongst audiophiles to bring attention to an effect referred to as brickwalling sound. As in, that song was brickwalled. Also called the "loudness wars," it has to do with the observation of a song's waveform (a graphic representation of audible frequencies) and how higher end frequencies are lost (or clipped off) when music is improperly (my word) mastered or remastered. Below is a visualization from the wiki page link in the next paragraph.

Cd_loudness_trend-something.gif

There are a lot of really interesting articles out there. You could start at the wiki page (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loudness_wars) to get an idea and then investigate further. The references section at the bottom of the wiki has some good articles.
    "A lot more people are capable of being big out there that just don't give themselves a chance." -Stone Gossard