Drummers- What is recommended for an upgrade?

jonesjc14jonesjc14 Posts: 32
edited February 2010 in Musicians and Gearheads
I've been playing for 4 yrs and am looking for an upgrade from my crappy Pearl kit, what do you recommend? I play rock/jam styles. I'm looking for a cutting, high-pitched, bounce sound in my toms(ex. DMB, String Cheese Incident) so I can expand my styles more from just solid rock... I want to be really flexible on my drum set with styles and rhythms. I'm looking at a six piece birch Sonor 2007 kit. My goal is to get many different opinions from different people before I make any decision...tell me what you think.
"Locking up a drug dealer isn't a deterrent, it's a job opening."
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• First name in drums right now is DW, Drum Workshop. They're not the only ones worth playing, but you can't go wrong with them. For jam/rock, I'd seriously recommend looking at fusion kits, with a regular-sized kick drum, and smaller toms. Iso-mount toms are a must.

OCP, Orange County Percussion, is a personal favorite. Ayotte, and some of the nicer Yamaha stuff. I also really like good Sonor stuff. Pork Pie has some good stuff. And of course there's always the vintage market, old Slingerland and Ludwig kits, etc.

Then again, I've heard some $300 shellpacks sound great with the right heads and tuning. If you want to spend the money on good shells, be ready to buy new heads (top AND bottom) for all drums.
    ...and if you don't like it, you can suck on an egg.
  • Don't get hung up on brand names. Go try out different sets and you will find what you want. Keep in mind two things: 1. you get what you pay for; 2. if you play with a band try and think in terms of how your potential drums SOUND as a musical instrument and not as you playing solo. And I guess one other thing, enjoy the damn process. It's not every day we get to buy a drum set! Enjoy!
  • CJMST3KCJMST3K Posts: 9,722