Boss BD-2 Vs. Ibanez TS-9/TS-808 Keeley Mods

cannotstaylongcannotstaylong Posts: 668
edited October 2009 in Musicians and Gearheads
I have been using the TS-9 Reissue (standard, no mods) for a few years now as my main overdrive pedal. I usually crank the volume and keep the gain nearly full on the pedal, using the guitar's volume knob to control the gain output to the amp. It's versatile for me, allowing me to go from a clean tone, to a distorted crunch. Although I love the pedal, I have increasingly found something lacking in the tone. There is a significant lack in clarity when I push the gain, which is a complaint I have read elsewhere. It is hard for me to find a real sweet spot with the pedal, either finding it too muddy or entirely too bright when I go for more clarity. I like a thick, warmer tone, but retaining clarity, especially in the mids, is very important to me.

I have been doing some research and keep coming back to the Keeley modded pedals, specifically the Boss BD-2, Ibanez TS-9 and the TS-808. At this point I feel like one of those would give me the improvement in the tone and clarity that I desire. From what I have read and from the videos I have watched, I am leaning towards the Blues Driver.

I play everything from Stevie Ray Vaughan/Hendrix style blues, to early-90s Pearl Jam style grunge, to Pink Floyd, to Led Zeppelin and many more. While versatility is important to me, I'd rather have a pedal that gives me the warm yet clear tone that my current TS-9 is not giving me. Don't get me wrong, the TS-9 is great and isn't far off, but it's lacking something if you know what I mean. I'm not opposed to changing the way I operate the pedal, i.e. moving away from the cranked volume and gain, if I can get that sweet spot I'm looking for.

For those of you have used all, some or just one of these Keeley modded pedals, what are your thoughts/opinions? Which would you recommend? What are the advantages and disadvantages of one over the other?