Options

**Eddie please play LONG ROAD in Brisbane this Saturday**

givn2fly26givn2fly26 Posts: 395
edited February 2014 in The Porch
I've never written one of these before but hoping it will work. I want to ask a special request for Eddie to play Long Road this Saturday in Brisbane for my grandpa who passed away a few days ago at the age of 100.

My grandpa (Pops) was the cornerstone of our family who lived independently after losing his wife to cancer 40 years ago. Pops turned 100 in November 2013 but unfortunately I wasn't able to be there for his birthday in Idaho as I now live in Australia but did manage to see him in December after I flew back to the US for the funeral of one of my best friends (and big PJ fan) Mike whose life was cut too short in a terrible accident in California (http://yubanet.com/regional/Death-of-Tahoe-National-Forest-Firefighter-and-Tahoe-Hotshots-Crew-Squadboss-Mike-Kelly-in-Camptonville.php).

It's amazing the difference in two lives, one who ended too early and the other who lived a full long and happy life. Both still very sad.

Pops was still going strong and was even shovelling snow off of his sidewalk when I saw him last and I'm so glad I got to spend time with him while I was there a few months ago.

Last week he had a fall at his house and had a minor heart attack and was taken to the hospital where they found out he had pneumonia and a tumor on his kidney. Within a week he had passed away.

Long Road means a lot to me and captures the mood we are all in at the moment.
Post edited by givn2fly26 on

Comments

• Options
    let's bump this. hope he plays it for you.
    Yeh I've seen Pearl Jam, too. But I can't remember the dates.
  • Options
    Princess BulldozerPrincess Bulldozer Mannheim, Germany Posts: 952
    My Pop (aka Donald, Duck or Bob) passed away on Australia Day this year from mesothelioma.