Options

Discouraged musician needs advice

zircona1zircona1 Posts: 293
edited November 2003 in Musicians and Gearheads
Hey all,

I play acoustic and electric guitar and sing, which I've been doing for several years now. There's this Italian restaurant that I've started playing at, I've played a couple of times. But last Saturday when I went in to schedule another gig the manager told me that they didn't want me anyone. Some people complained about me, I guess they said I wasn't very good, the manager wouldn't elaborate but he said I didn't do anything rude or offensive.

So now I'm gonna go back to doing open mic nights. I feel discouraged but I'm gonna keep going. Any suggestions? I have about 20 original songs that I've written, when is a good time to make a demo tape?
"As long as the music's loud enough, we won't hear the world falling apart."—Jubilee

"I'm not a very good American because I like to form my own opinions." - George Carlin
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    Pacomc79Pacomc79 Posts: 9,404
    Originally posted by zircona1
    Hey all,

I play acoustic and electric guitar and sing, which I've been doing for several years now. There's this Italian restaurant that I've started playing at, I've played a couple of times. But last Saturday when I went in to schedule another gig the manager told me that they didn't want me anyone. Some people complained about me, I guess they said I wasn't very good, the manager wouldn't elaborate but he said I didn't do anything rude or offensive.

So now I'm gonna go back to doing open mic nights. I feel discouraged but I'm gonna keep going. Any suggestions? I have about 20 original songs that I've written, when is a good time to make a demo tape?