Options

My Pearl Jam Story

ylwlab_45ylwlab_45 Posts: 6
When I heard Pearl Jam was coming to Milwaukee last month for Summerfest, something just told me I needed to be there for one of the shows. I was fan of the band when they first broke out on the music scene, having bought all of their music up through Vitology, but then I lost touch with them. Blame it on adulthood if you will -- kids, responsibilities, marriage, working, etc. But since the Milwaukee show, I feel like I've been re-introduced to the band after a long hiatus, and for the first time I realize that there no other music group on the planet as special as Pearl Jam. My wife and I are pretty middle-class, 30-something suburbanites (she stays at home with the kids, I work as a firefighter/paramedic), and we never go to rock shows. But the Milwaukee show was amazing, and even my wife (this was her first hard rock show) commented on how much she enjoyed the experience. I was surprised how much I remembered the words to the songs -- and at one point my wife looked over at me during the show, singing my lungs out -- and she had this look like she's never seen me enjoy something like this that much. I guess we are always learning something new about the one's we love!