Options

Dark Matter sound production or mixing quality

Comments

• Options
    KV4053KV4053 Mike's side, crushed up against the stage Posts: 1,470
    edited April 22
    I 100% agree. I think the songs themselves are really good and am super excited to hear them live. But everything sounds muddled. Eddie's vocals are even more unintelligible than usual somehow. Glad to find out that I'm not the only one, I was worried about my hearing there for a bit lol
    Different versions sound different for some reason. I heard the muddy version. Was not impressed. I've listened to the Apple version and the Blu-ray version and they are amazing. Currently listening to the qobuz hd version and it is also amazing.
    Post edited by KV4053 on
    I know I was born and I know that I'll die. The in between is mine.
  • Options
    southernmanfansouthernmanfan Johannesburg, South Africa Posts: 1,016
    So I had to post my thoughts on this thread. As a drummer I find that I’m not hearing Matt’s cymbals as prominent as they could be. That is just my feel. 

For me the production and mixing and the preference of how that should sound is ultimately the prerogative of producer and band. 

This is a brilliant album, everything about it, including the production and mixing, in my view. And I  don’t think I am just being euphoric about having new music from my favorite band. 

Andrew Watt has brought out the Pearl Jam in Pearl Jam in my opinion. 

Strong contender for falling in my top five Pearl Jam albums without a doubt. 
    rustedsigns
  • Options
    motleygunnermotleygunner Arizona Posts: 137
    I am having a hard time hearing Eddie's lyrics on the new album, I don't know if it is the mix or if I am just getting older and can't hear like I used to but I am struggling to make out the words on a lot of the songs. There also seems to be a layer of "noise" on a lot of the songs which sounds like music but certainly doesn't seem to be coming from a guitar or a drum kit.