Options

any electricians here?

conmanconman Posts: 7,493
edited January 2012 in All Encompassing Trip
i used to be an electrician before i joined the navy and now that i'm on my way out i will be looking to get back into the trade within the next year or so

just curious if there are any other electricians around here
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    RKCNDYRKCNDY Seattle, WA Posts: 31,013
    can I call you Sparky now? ;)
    The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.

- Christopher McCandless
  • Options
    RKCNDY wrote:
    i've been called a lot worse :P
  • Options
    conman wrote:
    RKCNDY wrote:

Can I ask you electrical questions then? (I honestly do have one...or 2)
    The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.

- Christopher McCandless
  • Options
    RKCNDY wrote:
    conman wrote:
    RKCNDY wrote:

Can I ask you electrical questions then? (I honestly do have one...or 2)
    i'll be happy to help if i can
  • Options
    yay!

ok, so on one wall on the OUTSIDE of the house, one cover is missing on the outlet (bad I know) but that outlet doesn't work, the other one does...it has a cover. On the INSIDE of the house, on the same wall, there is an outlet and this one gets warm. When I have the laptop plugged into it, the outlet gets really really really warm...the other outlets in the same room get warm...but not as warm. A lamp plugged in the outlet doesn't seem to affect it.

a) do I need to re-wire all these outlets?

or

B) can I just replace the outlets?

and

c) if I have to re-wire...is that super expensive? (the outlets happen to be on the same wall as the fuse box/control panel.

Thanks so much! :D

- Christopher McCandless
  • Options