Options

***Not for You: Pearl Jam and the Present Tense (Book)****

13»

Comments

• Options
    igotid88igotid88 Posts: 27,313
    edited October 2020
    KV4053 said:
    Does it have a lot of photos?  Trying to decide between Kindle and Hardcover.  Thanks!
    No. Rarely any photos
    Post edited by igotid88 on
    I miss igotid88
  • Options

I miss igotid88
  • Options
    tdawetdawe Posts: 1,996
    edited October 2020
    igotid88 said:
    tdawe said:
    I am enjoying this book so far but man, whoever edited it should have taken at least one more pass. 
    I'm not a grammar expert but I see this sometimes 
    It’s mostly the extra commas and sentence fragments that annoy me; I can see how a couple of those can get missed but not this many. On the other hand get a load of this:

Sometimes I catch myself writing - in internet message board comments - like this - with a million dashes - or parentheses, sometimes - and I’ll go back and fix that shit. If you’re (presumably) getting paid to edit a book for publication, how do you let that go?

I honestly don’t mean any of this as shade toward the author. I’m enjoying the book quite a bit. It’s a really nice synthesis between band history and fan memoir. I don’t agree with all of his specific opinions on songs and albums and shows and whatnot, but I didn’t expect to and frankly it would be kind of disturbing if I did. If you can handle 400 pages of someone else’s opinions on Pearl Jam without getting the chance to interrupt and get your own $0.02 in, then I definitely recommend this book.
  • Options
    KV4053KV4053 Mike's side, crushed up against the stage Posts: 1,439
    tdawe said:
    igotid88 said:
    tdawe said:
    I am enjoying this book so far but man, whoever edited it should have taken at least one more pass. 
    I'm not a grammar expert but I see this sometimes