Variant question

Sibidy7Sibidy7 Posts: 188
so, I'm new to this poster world and I'm wondering about the variants i hear about.

There are some variants from the Wrigley 2018 shows.  Where are the variants sold and when?

I'm confused.

Comments

• Release EVRelease EV Posts: 1,998
    Variants are sold by the artist in online drops at typically scheduled times post the show the poster was created for. 

Never seen a variant at the show for sale. Someone could correct me if they have witnessed this. 

Collectors may like an artist print or variant as typically produced in much smaller numbers than show editions.  Have to say personally show editions are just as cool in my view
  • PSUS2HPSUS2H USA Posts: 2,049
    Variants are sold by the artist in online drops at typically scheduled times post the show the poster was created for. 

Never seen a variant at the show for sale. Someone could correct me if they have witnessed this. 

Collectors may like an artist print or variant as typically produced in much smaller numbers than show editions.  Have to say personally show editions are just as cool in my view
    Didnt they occasionally mix them in with regular show editions?
    Pittsburgh, PA September 28, 2005 || Washington, DC June 22, 2008 || Barstow, VA May 13, 2010 || Seattle, WA  August 10, 2018 || Dana Point, CA September 29, 2018 (EV) || Dana Point, CA September 28, 2019 (EV) || Dana Point, CA September 25, 2021 (EV) || Dana Point, CA October 1, 2021 || Dana Point, CA October 2, 2021 
  • Release EVRelease EV Posts: 1,998
    edited August 2018
    PSUS2H said:

As i said never seen a variant sold at a show. Variants are a craze of past 10odd years.  Helps the artist make extra cash when flippers were killing it.  Just my view.  Some are super rare and impressive.

However I must admit Back in the 90s like in 98 the odd SEs had artist signed and numbered x/y. But again never seen a variant sold at a show. Only seen variant pins sold at shows etc