Options

Neil Young Hits The Nail On The Head

circles downcircles down Posts: 182
edited July 2008 in The Porch
A comment Neil made in a recent article on CNN.com offers a pretty good argument in the debate of what a singer should and shouldn't say from the stage. Ed is a big part of this debate and I like what Neil says here.....

"Just because I'm famous doesn't mean that I work for the audience," he said. "I'm not obligated to do anything. I'm an artist. I will do what I want to do. Whatever the consequences ... I certainly hope that it's a civilized reaction."

When you hear someone with the stature of Neil saying something bold like this it doesn't come off as arrogant or egotistical. Other's might be reluctant to play the "I'm an artist" card because it can be taken the wrong way, so I'm glad he said it.

Here's the whole article:

http://www.cnn.com/2008/SHOWBIZ/Music/07/29/music.neilyoung.ap/index.html
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    release30release30 Posts: 2,051
    Sweet article..thx....
    Conversations getting dull
    There's a constant ringing in my ears
    Sense of humor's void and numb
    And I'm bored to tears.......
  • Options
    augustwestaugustwest Posts: 739
    "Let's Impeach The President"

Let's impeach the President for lying
    And misleading our country into war
    Abusing all the power that we gave him
    And shipping all our money out the door

Who's the man who hired all the criminals
    The White House shadows who hide behind closed doors
    They bend the facts to fit with their new stories
    Of why we have to send our men to war

Let's impeach the President for spying
    On citizens inside their own homes
    Breaking every law in the country
    By tapping our computers and telephones

What if Al Qaeda blew up the levees
    Would New Orleans have been safer that way
    Sheltered by our government's protection
    Or was someone just not home that day?

Flip - Flop
    Flip - Flop