Options

registry cleaner

manic mindmanic mind Posts: 84
edited April 2007 in Technical Stuff and Help
I think my computer needs a registry cleaning program. It's acting like it's going to crash. It's freezing upon restart and I'm getting lines throught the screen when I move my mouse across the screen. I've also gotten something called a DLL error and it's moving really slow. I'm new at this so I'm not sure what I need to do. I've done a little searching online but could use some advice. Does anyone know where I could download a registry cleaning program for free? Any advice?
Sold to Pearl Jam at birth!
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    markymark550markymark550 Columbia, SC Posts: 5,104
    Couple of questions:
    1) Do you use anti-virus software? Is it current and have you run a system scan lately?
    2) Do you use anti-spyware software? Same questions as above.

if the answer is no to the above two questions, then before anything else I would get those, get them current, and run some system scans
  • Options
    Couple of questions:
    1) Do you use anti-virus software? Is it current and have you run a system scan lately?
    2) Do you use anti-spyware software? Same questions as above.

if the answer is no to the above two questions, then before anything else I would get those, get them current, and run some system scans

Yes I do use an Anti-virus & Anti-spyware. I have used both of them regularly and update them everyday. I found a few Spyware items today and removed them but am still having problems.
  • Options
    LizardjamLizardjam Posts: 1,121
    You can google a microsoft cleaner. It works really well, but I'd google anything in it that you don't know exactly what it is. Also check all the stuff you have automatically running and end it. Google all that first too! Good luck. If all else fails, back up everything and reformat.
    bugs in the way...I feel about you

"New music, new friends. Pearl Jam."