ed's 194? martin 00-17

xmascleanlovexmascleanlove Posts: 55
edited January 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
i've wanted a martin acoustic since i started playing guitar almost 4 years ago...but i wasn't really sure which one to get...well after this last tour when i isaw that all brown plain thing ed was playing and i heard the tone on it i was pretty sure i'd found the guitar i wanted...only problem was i didn't know what model it was or what year...and sure enough the awesome guys at giventowail.com came up with that list for the riot act tour gear and had it on there...i found one for 1400 bucks at an out of state vintage guitar place and got it as a little birthday present to myself...let me tell you...ed has good taste in acoustics

this thing has a beautiful crisp warm tone that totally blows away my takamine ltd 2001...i'd reccomend it to any acoustic player...granted the action is not the fastest but for any guitarist who's got a few years in it's not a problem at all...basically this guitar kicks ass hardcore...try and find one and play it and tell me what you think...

on a side note i was thinking about what kind of pick-ups to get but was looking for a little help in that area...i'm not drilling a hole in this badboy so that's out...any suggestions...other than micing of course

~anth
if you're a pot smoker and you don't own a ukulele you're fuckin up...but then once you get a ukulele you might end up moving to a guitar because its a gateway instrument you know
~ EV 6/25/03
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Can't go wrong with Fishman
    ...and if you don't like it, you can suck on an egg.
  • something interesting I found out in the course of my research on Martin mahoganys. On top of vedder, it turns out during his coffee shop years Bob Dylan also played a 00-17 from 1949. He played it for about 2 years apparently. He traded in an electric for it straight up.