MLB 2024 Season

Comments

• markymark550markymark550 Columbia, SC Posts: 5,103
    MayDay10 said:
    I didn't know there was this much development for it so far, but seems like Nashville is pretty close to being a definitive expansion team.

Who should the other be? Based on everything I've read makes a lot of sense for it to be Portland. Personally, I want the Expos to come back.
    I have seen Charlotte mentioned
    I grew up in an SC suburb of Charlotte and can tell you they've wanted an MLB team for a while. I remember it being discussed and reading op-eds on it back to at least when I was in high school, if not longer. For reference, I graduated high school in 2001.

Charlotte does have a history of supporting its pro teams. That, along with the ever growing metro area, would make it a prime city for MLB expansion. That said, I'm not sure how well an MLB team would do there. For longtime residents of the Carolinas, the new team would have to fight the strong ties with the Braves, as well as the Orioles and Nationals to a lesser degree. It can be done, but would probably take a while to really build a fan base.
  • No league needs more teams at this point.
    I agree.  The pitching will be saturated with new additional teams...
  • So Correa is either signed with Minnesota or the Mets...

Two people out in the twiitersphere plugging both ideas.
  • Cliffy6745Cliffy6745 Posts: 33,582
    Too funny...he's going back to the Twins
  • HesCalledDyerHesCalledDyer Maryland Posts: 16,416
    Friday: "Correa/Twins deal on hold after concerns with physical"
  • WobbieWobbie Posts: 29,383
    good.
    If I had known then what I know now...

Vegas 93, Vegas 98, Vegas 00 (10 year show), Vegas 03, Vegas 06
    VIC 07
    EV LA1 08
    Seattle1 09, Seattle2 09, Salt Lake 09, LA4 09
    Columbus 10
    EV LA 11
    Vancouver 11
    Missoula 12
    Portland 13, Spokane 13
    St. Paul 14, Denver 14
    Philly I & II, 16
    Denver 22