Options

03/13/94 - New Regal Theater: Chicago, IL

SLH916SLH916 Posts: 132
edited February 2011 in Given To Fly (live)
Was anyone at this show? A friend of mine said that the show was a dangerous one. What happened?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    I was at this show. In fact, I had 5th row seats. The reason why your friend said it was dangerous was probably because Eddie Vedder climbed up onto a stack of speakers and used an exit sign to climb from the stack to a ledge on the wall off to the side of the theatre. He was pretty high up and was directly above me. Sure enough, he stepped off the ledge backwards, stagediving into the fans below. He landed right on top of me and it actually hurt my wrist to catch him, but it was pretty exciting, especially since I was a freshman in high school at the time and in love with Pearl Jam. A few weeks later there was a column in Rolling Stone Magazine in which the author reviewed the show and made note of the fact that the throng of fans below Eddie's perch upon that ledge represented more of a danger than the height of the jump itself. That was me!!!
  • Options
    SLH916SLH916 Posts: 132
    Based on looking at the height involved in some of those jumps, I've often wondered how many people got injured from having Eddie landing on them.
  • Options
    jlew24asujlew24asu Posts: 10,118