Options

Mentally disabled man with toygun shot dead in Sweden

2»

Comments

• Options
    Spiritual_ChaosSpiritual_Chaos Posts: 28,933

I am no gun expert...but I'm guessing they might have a strong defence that the gun is very real like.  But that would also depend on how far away when the victim was shot.  Seems like a tragedy all around.  
    The police officer being charged with manslaughter got charged with that because he shot when the victim was turned with his back against them moving away.
    That changes everything.  
    Swedish newspaper Expressen has seen the plaint/lawsuit application: One police is prosecuted for causing another's death, the other two for misconduct.

"When Eric Torell, in a subsequent stage, turned his back on the police, NN, without any longer being entitled to emergency protection, has fired a shot that hit Eric Torell in the back and caused his death," the lawsuit claims.'

Sad story.
    "Mostly I think that people react sensitively because they know you’ve got a point"
  • Options
    HesCalledDyerHesCalledDyer Maryland Posts: 16,418
    I haven't seen the toy gun.  Some of those guns look real, especially from a distance.  Who thought it would be a good idea to give this individual a toy gun?  Hard to fault the police, especially the Swedish police ....

This is Megatron, leader of the Decepticons.  A Tranformers toy from the 1980's. Not a real gun.  But look at that fucker.  I openly carried it around the neighborhood as a kid.  Different times then, obviously.  Ain't no way in hell 1) Hasbro would be allowed to sell this today, 2) even if they did, would I buy this for any child, and 3) even if I did, let them leave the house with it.  If you were carrying this around in public today, do you think a cop or bystander is going to think it's a toy?  Kind of insane to think I even had this 35 years ago.
  • Options
    my2handsmy2hands Posts: 17,117
    Transformers were the shit
  • Options