Any Powderfinger fans out there?

2-feign-reluctance2-feign-reluctance TigerTown, USA Posts: 23,090
Tons and tons of great bands that have come out of Australia, but none better than Powderfinger IMO. They have an awesome catalog worth listening to (start with Double Allergic and move forward). I was super lucky to see them twice, once in Philadelphia and once in St.Louis during a very rare USA tour back in 2001. My wife's all time favorite band - she introduced them to me when I studied abroad in Perth for a year. One neat thing about them you didn't see much back in the day were tons of b-sides to their singles. Outtakes, demos, and live cuts. Reminds me a lot of Pearl Jam in the 90s with their singles. A few years back I was able to make a 18 track mixtape of just their b-sides. Pretty awesome. Anybody else like them? What's your favorite record?
www.cluthelee.com

Comments

• redrawredraw Posts: 1,271
    Great Aussie band!!!
    I think Vulture Street is probably my fave??
    You Am I is another awesome Oz band I would also recommend....
    '95: Brisbane BEC March 21 & 22 '98: Brisbane BEC March 14 & 15 '03: Brad Surfers Paradise Troccadero Jan 11
    '03: Brisbane BEC Feb 8 '06: Brisbane BEC Nov 10 & 11 '09: Brisbane QSAC Nov 25
    '11: EV Solo Brisbane QPAC March 10, 12 & 13 '11: PJ20 Alpine Valley Sep 3 & 4
    '14: Gold Coast BDO Jan 19 EV Solo QPAC Feb 22, 23 & 25
  • I thought this was a Neil Young thread.

"Look out mama..."
    "My brain's a good brain!"

I thought this was a Neil Young thread.

"Look out mama..."

Uncle Neil was the inspiration for their name...
    '95: Brisbane BEC March 21 & 22 '98: Brisbane BEC March 14 & 15 '03: Brad Surfers Paradise Troccadero Jan 11
  • BrainofBGABrainofBGA Australia Posts: 3,840
    edited July 2016
    Yeah love me some Powderfinger.

Saw them numerous times here in Australia.