Fender or Marshall?

For guitar amplifiers, which do you prefer and why?

I used to be a huge fan of the Fender Deluxe Reverb but lately it's all about the Tweed Deluxe. 

Marshall makes some killer, classic amps too.

So?
If hope can grow from dirt like me, it can be done. - EV

Comments

• xtremehardy388xtremehardy388 Posts: 2,759
    I will ALWAYS love the Hot Rod Deluxe but I've got a Roc-Pro 700 that I use. I've been using it since 2004 and it's always given me excellent sounds. The drive channel is reminiscent of TOOL or old Sabbath (depending on how you dial it)
    Grand Rapids '04, Detroit '06
    JEFF HARDY AND JEFF AMENT USED TO LOOK THE SAME
    "Pearl Jam always eases my mind and fires me up at the same time.”-Jeff Hardy
  • brianluxbrianlux Moving through All Kinds of Terrain. Posts: 40,592
    Oh what I would give to have my '65 Fender DeLuxe Reverb back.  Wouldn't mind a mid sixties Princeton either!
    “The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man [or woman] who lives fully is prepared to die at any time.”
    Variously credited to Mark Twain or Edward Abbey.

• DewieCoxDewieCox Posts: 11,411
    Both...I've been leaning on my Princeton the last few months, but have a Dr Z Remedy(Plexi) that kicks copious amounts of ass. Run pretty much the same extensive pedalboard into both, but the way they react gets a lot of variety. If I got in a playing out situation I'd probably run an a/b/y setup.
  • dudemandudeman Posts: 2,962
    edited June 2017
    I'd like to build a Plexi clone someday. If I could have any Marshall, it would definitely be a Plexi but I want it in a combo with a 12" or two 10" speakers and a built-in attenuator. 

Since I stopped playing electric to focus on bass years ago, I sold most of the guitar gear I had. Now, I have a Fender Super Champ XD that I modified a bit. It suits my needs for now. I have it configured to sound like a Tweed Deluxe and it's making me want to buy or build a clone of the real thing.