You don't have to read this post...

byrn3535byrn3535 Posts: 127
edited March 2008 in The Porch
...If you don't want to...obviously... but I thought I would share my Pearl Jam Beginning.

I was a freshman in high school in 91. My musical world was a mess. It was filled with top 40 nightmares and hip hop intrigue. It would be nothing for me to switch from a Public Enemy TAPE...(remember!) to some irrelevant hair band crap. I dabbled in jazz and blues trying to learn the roots of american music and soon things were starting to take shape. wouldn't be long before I bought a Black Sabbath tape, then quickly got into Hendrix, Zep, Beattles, etc...

My personal life was just as chaotic. Alcoholic father(He's great now!), Devil of a stepmom, Hadn't spoke to my real mother in years...blah blah blah...anywho....

Living in Wisconsin we seem to be a bit behind the newest things compared to the coasts. (leave your Wisconsin jokes at the door. I love this freak'n state) Eventually Nirvana hit. I wasn't sure what I was hearing but it was undeniably fresh. I really started to dig it. Kurt's voice was echoing feelings I was having at the time. Then another band came along...Pearl Jam. I can't remember which song I heard first but I think it was Alive. All I could remember was thinking "What the fuck. Who the hell do these guys think they are." If a video came on MTV I would change the channel (yes MTV used to play music videos), if they were on the radio I'd change the station. I really hated them. SO IGNORANT

Then Lolla came to Milwaukee. I didn't go but a couple of buddies of mine went. When they got back they said: "Dude, you'll never believe which band absolutley fucking rocked."

I was like "who?"

"PEARL JAM!"

I thought "No fucking Way." My friend Mark said "Seriously man, it was unbelievable. They were all over the place and their lead singer spit on me." (weird thing to think is awesome, but hey that's rock'n'roll)