Options

Help from fellow bass players

edited September 2003 in Musicians and Gearheads
I just started playing a bass a couple months ago, and I need an amp. I don't really know what to look for in an amp either. Any suggestions??
umm...
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    I'd say you really dont need anything more than a 15 or so watt practice amp. Head over to musiciansfriend.com. I recommend Peavey or Crate (just for practice amps though).

Have fun!
    To myself I surrender, to the one I'll never please.
  • Options
    Pacomc79Pacomc79 Posts: 9,404
    I really like the Ampeg stuff, but A Trace Elliot Boxer is a good one as well. Orange just built a new Crush Series Bass Amp, everything from Orange is good. Peavey makes good amps for fairley cheap, Carvin, Fender you really can't go too wrong. Even Vox has a really cool one. The only one's I'd say don't get are the slightly underpowered cheap ones

I think you should look for at least a 50 watt 12 so you can keep the amp for a while you really can't play with a band with under 50 watts the bass should be the most powerful instrument besides drums in the band.

The things you want to look for are, Output Wattage some where above 50 watts for bass preferably. Cabinet Construction (If it feels cheap it is cheap) Tone and Volume shaping. Preamp Postamp Gain, Treble Middle Bass EQ and on the newer amps Voicing controls and perhaps compression.

What not to look for, Built in Effects like Flange, Auto Wah etc.

You won't use them much anyway you can worry about effects later, don't pay more for them.

Put your money on the Cabinet, Speaker and tone shaping and you'll get the most for your money.

Play them all then decide.

15 watts is fine in fact you can get buy with 10 but eventually you will hopefully be playing with a band and a 50 watter will allow you some flexibility