How would you like to watch a PJ concert?

ArjunArjun Posts: 4
edited August 2006 in Given To Fly (live)
You've been to several Pearl Jam concerts. A few in your backyard. You've travelled long for a few. You've taken to the skies for some. You've seen some live on television. You've seen recordings shown on television. You buy the DVD's.

How would you like to watch a PJ concert? I don't think I'll ever get to watch them live anywhere in India, since they're likely to run into a little trouble with the virtual moral police (they censored Savage Garden's concert with a 'Submission Of Lyrics' office, then laid out rules on how to behave!) because of their lyrics here and there. Even if they adjust, high entertainment taxes as well as organising issues may come in the way. Already the Black Eyed Peas cancelled their Indian leg because of attacks that ripped apart a suburban railway line in Mumbai, so Pearl Jam are a lot less likely to turn up.

I'm a student without a salary, so I can't afford air travel or hotel accommodation, let alone both, plus taxi fares and tickets. Even if I got to see them perform, I'd end up somewhere in the back rows, which are a dangerous place in a rock concert– you might just get moshed! The more wealthy get into the safer front row, only to have their ears blasted out! The so-called live feeling is there when you're at the concert, but the kickbacks are severe, and you're still very distant from the band. You have to be very lucky to get up, close and personal to your heroes.

That 'live' feeling is missing on television, but you can see the band a lot better, and still enjoy the music without getting roughed up. The recording that's played back is not live as live, but you can watch them perform when you want them to. Besides, Pearl Jam are one of the best bands to hear live, so it shouldn't matter how you watch 'em perform, so choose what's most convenient. What about you?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments