Any Drummers Around Here?

If so, lets hear about your kit.

I'm a complete beginner with the drums.I have owned a kit for about a decade but just got it set up today after about six years in the cases. Have lots to learn and a lot of practice is in my future.

The kit is a DW Workshop Series. Maple shells in a jazz configuration. I bought DW 5000 and 9000 Series hardware.

The major weak link is the cymbals. I have Zildjian ZBTs and they are horrible, cringe inducing products of Hell. I imagine Satan himself made these things just to torture people. 

So, I'm planning on upgrading cymbals one day but I don't really want to spend $800.00 - $1,000.00 on A Customs, Zildjian K's or Paiste 2002 or Signature Series.

Is there an option around $500.00 that is good enough for recording rock and roll?

If hope can grow from dirt like me, it can be done. - EV

Comments

• I play more guitar now but still have my mid-late 90’s Tama Starclassic that my parents got me as a teen. Now a 6-piece. I’ve slowly added stuff to it over the years. My only cymbal recommendation is to find what sound you want and buy used. I’ve had really good luck going piece by piece in the used market. But I love the lines that you mentioned even at the cost. Zildjian has never let me down. I cracked a crash once and they replaced it. I have a new beat hi hat, 16 and 17 inch A custom crashes (that sound so, so good), a Z ride, an 18” K Crash Ride, an 8” K Splash and a 18” hammered China. Almost all of those were bought used in very good to excellent condition. Stick marks don’t bother me and they’ll last me for years. Just make sure stuff isn’t cracked or bent. 
  • dudemandudeman Posts: 2,969
    Thanks man. I'm totally into going for used cymbals. For the little bit I play, I can't really justify spending a lot.

The crashes have to come first, then the ride followed by the hi-hats. That's the order from most obnoxious to the least.