Options

Matt Cameron's solo album Cavedweller

Comments

• Options
    evsgjammevsgjamm Posts: 2,103
    evsgjamm said:
    Oh poor critical me... the lyrics in "Time Can't Wait" are 2-dimensional, flat, predictable, teen-age cliche and I can't freaking stand them. Love Matt; don't love Matt's lyrics. If you're a fan of the lyrics, I don't understand why. They are elementary. After listening to Ed and countless other great writers over the years, I expected better from MFC as a middle-aged man in a highly successful and influential band. These lyrics are what I'd expect from a band of 13-15 year olds. Frick, I sound like such a bad person. The phrase "Don't quit your day job" comes into mind. It's like he just spewed out random phrases with no backstory or depth.  If that's what he actually likes about his lyrics, then groovy, but for the artistry level he's achieved over the decades as a drummer, I don't understand why he'd lock in these lyrics as "Yep. Album worthy." Bland. Flat. Unappealing. Best drummer in the world with the best band in the world. Worst lyricist. I get it that he's feeling expressive, but my goodness, I wish he expressed them on the skins rather than on the paper. Hopes are low for the rest of the record. The vinyl will be at my door in 5 days. Here's to hoping it's only one song that I feel this way about. "Give the guy a break" you say? "What have you done with your life?" you say? Look, the lyrics are bad, and this bellybutton has picked out his lint. Sorry for dropping it here for you to pick up. This is one of those posts I already regret cuz it's easier to hate (like what I've done here) than it is to love. Love you Matt. Sorry to say your lyrics aren't up to my standard, but I think they're not up to many people's standards in this group which consists of many intelligent fans with high expectations.  I had really high expectations for the single. I can't really bring myself to hear it again.