Options

A Call To All Chris Cornell Fan's To Help Raise Money For Suicide Prevention In His Name

ottonypottonyp Posts: 226
Hello,
  My name is Anthony Piscitella. I have been a part of Pearl Jam's fan club for as long as I can remember (my number is 1xx,xxx), and that's not even my original number! I am 48 years old. I live in Troy, N.Y., with my wife and 17 year-old daughter. I am a disabled Occupational Therapist, whom helped to establish The Eddy Health System back in the 1990's. I have had 8 low back surgeries(including two spinal fusions) and had to stop working all together in 2005. I have been a going to a pain management clinic for over 20 years now. This past Tuesday I recieved 2 epidural injections to my low back ,and this coming Tuesday it will be repeated again. If all goes well, it will calm my chronic pain for 4 months or more. I can't even begin to tabulate all the hours I have been on bed rest due to my condition. It hasn't been easy to transition to a spectator for EVERYTHING! It has been a tough life, but I ALWAYS manage to persaveer. The physical aspect isn't even the biggest hurdle...it's EASILY the mental aspect (depression). As Americans, we put TONS of value on our occupation (one of the first things we ask each other upon first meeting), and with loss of occupation comes low self esteem and loss of self worth. I constantly try to volunteer for things I can physically handle. For the past four years I have volunteered at my daughter's high school (Catholic Central), and before that I read to residents at an area Assisted Living facility. It seems when I am able to keep busy with something, I don't have time to focus on my deficits.