Options

Small Business and Minimum Wage

Comments

• Options
    brianluxbrianlux Moving through All Kinds of Terrain. Posts: 40,687

I'm for raising the minimum wage. That makes sense. The idea of a livable wage to me does not, however. I'm a small business owner and my family and I are by no means making any money off of our hard work. I do 70 hrs a week and my 66 year old mom does about 30, and she works for no pay so we can survive. I make a decent salary but it's not much- I could prob make more being a chef for big companies like I was before this.

I just know that the kids and people I hire don't expect a livable wage working here at a bakery, and they never will. They know that working here or flipping burgers or making subway melts isn't going to pay a livable wage, nor should it.

I feel responsible for my employees well being and make sure I do everything in my power to keep them happy, but if I had to pay $15 an hour minimum I know I would lay off a few people to survive.

This is the same dilemma we're in- definitely pro living wage for people who depend on it and equal pay for men and women but small businesses generally cannot afford to pay $15 to a high school or college aged employee or retiree on a fixed income looking to make some money. There needs to be a clause that accounts for this. A minimum wage that applies straight across the board means small business owners will hire fewer students or retirees on a fixed income (my wife hires both but may not be able to in the future* ) and more and more of them will close (this is already happening). That's not fair for the small business owner, and not fair for the student or retiree on a fixed income. There needs to be some flexibility on this issue for small businesses. The other option is to do away with small businesses and just have corporate everything. Say goodbye to your local independent bakery, pub, bookstore, record store, etc.