Options

Lost with Electric

Ive been reading this forum for some time now and know that there are some very talented musicians out there. To all of you, your input would be appreciated. So Ive been learning guitar now for a little over four years now. 90% of what I play, practice, and learn on is the acoustic guitar. When I get the electric guitar, pedals, and amp out, I feel lost, I mean completely lost. I can pick up the acoustic and strum, fingerpick away. Whether its a cover song or something just made up, it comes more natural. With the electric guitar and pedals, I dont have any direction, foundation, or knowledge of what to do. Ive played around with different pedals, different tones, but havent gotten anything out of playing that makes you feel as if you are progressing. So Im really at a point now where I feel as if I want to abandon most of my electric equipment and stick with just basically the acoustic. My questions are, is this normal? What can I do to transition from what Ive learned on the acoustic to the electric? Should I just stay exclusively with acoustic? Any and all input is appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    2-feign-reluctance2-feign-reluctance TigerTown, USA Posts: 23,141
    I started out on an electric and then bought an acoustic years later. So I had the opposite issue, but I play both comfortably now. I didn't get into pedals until later. It may be you are biting off more than you can chew trying to get into tones, etc. Who knows. You also may just love acoustic more. There are artists that just prefer it and stay exclusive to it. You go with what feels right for you and follow that feeling. Maybe keep your electric equipment though. Just in case...
    www.cluthelee.com
  • Options
    any tips on how to make it easier to transition from acoustic to electric?
  • Options
    2-feign-reluctance2-feign-reluctance TigerTown, USA Posts: 23,141