Bad Union Contracts will kill the unions

Godfather.Godfather. Posts: 12,504
edited January 2014 in A Moving Train
I am a union officer and I can tell you that this story is pretty much spot on,the union's need to re-think their contracts or they may loose them all together.

Godfather.

Defending workers’ rights is a noble mission. But sometimes labor unions take it too far. Here are some of our favorite examples of labor union contracts “gone wild.”

1) Three strikes and you’re still not out.

Believe it or not, an overly generous clause slipped into the teacher Master Agreement in 1997, basically states that Bay City School Teachers (Michigan) can be caught drunk at work up to five times before they get sacked.

In Florida, a teacher who showed up to class plastered and then started “dirty dancing” with her students may end up teaching again, thanks to her union’s excellent negotiating skills.

Bay City School teachers (again in Michigan) managed to negotiate a union contract where they could be caught in possession of, or under the influence of, drugs three times before they lost their job.

2). No shows at work

Dozens of Miami-Dade County employees often don’t bother to show up for work, and instead, opt to spend their time working as union reps, on the taxpayers’ dime. County Commissioner Esteban Bovo told Florida Watchdog this is costing taxpayers anywhere from $12 million to $24 million annually.

Click for more from Watchdog.org
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• lukin2006lukin2006 Posts: 9,087
    Bad union contracts here in Canada with the automakers has lead to quite a few reductions in jobs.