Legal Question- PLEASE HELP!!

Spot In The SkySpot In The Sky Posts: 1,175
edited November 2007 in All Encompassing Trip
My credit card says "Dr. Kevin...." but I am not a real doctor.

Is it illegal for me to sign "MD" after my name on a receipt? I was told it was, and someone is now saying it isnt.
"The world is dangerous, feel safe here tonight..." EV 9/17/06

38+6 shows at the age of 27 and counting...but still no Undone

My podcast: Hotel Manager Talk- Dedicated to Hotel Employees, tell your friends. http://www.HotelManagerTalk.com
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• DanimalDanimal Posts: 2,000

Is it illegal for me to sign "MD" after my name on a receipt? I was told it was, and someone is now saying it isnt.

Why the hell would you do that?
    "I don't believe in PJ fans but I believe there is something, not too sure what." - Thoughts_Arrive

• markymark550markymark550 Columbia, SC Posts: 5,103
    I wouldn't trust someone's opinion from a message board on a legal matter. If you really need to know the answer to this, you should contact a lawyer.

I mean no offense to the people that mean well, but don't really know the law and give their opinion anyway.
  • rival.rival. Chicago Posts: 7,776

if you are not a real doctor, then why do you have the title on your CC?

trying to impress waitresses and cashiers?
  • I wouldn't trust someone's opinion from a message board on a legal matter. If you really need to know the answer to this, you should contact a lawyer.

I mean no offense to the people that mean well, but don't really know the law and give their opinion anyway.

Agreed. Each state has different rules regarding the practice of medicine and what does and does not constitute a penalty for claiming to be a physician when one isn't. Find an attorney in your state who knows what the state Board of Medical Examiner's policy is.
    The Daystar