Greatest Beach Boys song??

2»

Comments

• brianluxbrianlux Moving through All Kinds of Terrain. Posts: 40,592
    FrankY59 said:
    I’m new to The Beach Boys and am having trouble with Pet Sounds.  Is their something wrong with me?  Why is it recognized as one of the best all time?  I understand the album itself is important in of itself in relationship to the band but why does it fare so great versus almost every other album ever made?
    Pet Sounds is a nearly total leap away from most earlier Beach Boys work.  There are hints of Brian Wilson's genesis as a song writer/ arranger on the album The Beach Boys Today and those changes were fully realized in Pet Sounds.  Having grown up on the more simple surf, car related and ballad songs previous to Pet Sounds, I found that new sound to be challenging back when it first came out.  I finally went back to it year later in my 30's and listened to that record as a whole other kind of music.  It's much more complex and really does often require more attention to detail.  Beautiful as a song like "Surfer Girl" is or as fun as "Fun, Fun, Fun" is, they're also much easier to listen to more passively.
    “The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man [or woman] who lives fully is prepared to die at any time.”
    Variously credited to Mark Twain or Edward Abbey.

• cp3iversoncp3iverson Posts: 8,632
    edited July 2018
    Re: Pet Sounds.   Its interesting to even try to describe.  Its peak mad-scientist Brian Wilson in the studio.   Some incredibly complex stuff taking place on simple sounding songs.  

A song like God Only Knows sounds like a regular ballad until you study how mindblowing the key changes are.  I read an article once where music professors compared it more to Mozart than 20th century pop music just based on how these songs were constructed