Options

My Night of the Year

GAMMA_WAVE5GAMMA_WAVE5 Posts: 15
edited August 2016 in The Porch
I had been telling my wife for the last 7 years I would take her to her first P.J. show. I'm totally P.J. obsessed and my wife was definitely more than a casual fan, just not a total die-hard like myself. This tour rolled around and as it got closer, I ended up buying a single ticket for the Tampa show in April because we knew we weren't going to have a babysitter well in advance. I felt pretty bad, as yet again I was going without her, but she kept telling me things like, it's okay, I want you to go, you'll have a blast, etc. I went solo, it was amazing as always, and after a week passed and I was finally coming down from it... I remember waking up and this overwhelming sense of guilt hit me. What was I thinking?! Pearl Jam is on tour right now and you're going to be okay with seeing them once all tour by yourself? I suddenly realized that all the madness in our lives early this year had completely fried my brain. (Life with a toddler, among some other pretty heavy stuff I'll spare you from).

My clarity came back as I realized my sister lived in Columbia, SC, and the band was on their way there for the 21st! I sped off to work and got on StubHub... there was nearly nothing left of course, and I couldn't bare the thought of finally taking her to a show and sitting near the rafters. There were a few seats open directly behind the stage, cheapest ones available actually, and also the closest to the stage. Total dillema. Now I'm taking her to see P.J. from behind... great. I bought them reluctantly, afraid we wouldn't be able to see a thing and told myself I should be happy I even got two seats. We packed up the baby and hit the road for 10 hours on the 20th.

If you haven't done it, I'm telling you, sitting behind the stage was unreal. A whole new perspective, and probably the closest to a VIP feel I'll ever get.