Can someone explain something to me?

2-feign-reluctance2-feign-reluctance TigerTown, USA Posts: 23,090
I need a basic run down on audio interfaces - like you were talking to a complete novice. Check these out...

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/audio-interfaces

What the hell do these do to instruments, vocals? Do they only work with DAW's like ProTools?
www.cluthelee.com

Comments

• mccreadyisgodmccreadyisgod Bumfuq, MT Posts: 6,395
    Those are for converting analog audio signals into digital signals that are then sent into a computer running recording software. So, you can plug direct instruments into 1/4" instrument inputs, or plug microphones into XLR mic preamps, and the interface will convert that into a digital signal that can plug into your computer's USB or Firewire port. Some of them come with their own software, some are just interfaces and you provide your own software. With the way that ProTools works these days, I think that all of those interfaces would work with ProTools, if that's what you want. There are certainly cheaper software systems available. They should all do instruments and vocals, but you would need to provide your own microphones, stands, and mic cables to get anything other than direct instrument inputs (like if you wanted to record electric guitar via a mic on the guitar amp, like most people would do).

I think that answers your basic question, but is there anything you are still lost on?
    ...and if you don't like it, you can suck on an egg.
  • 2-feign-reluctance2-feign-reluctance TigerTown, USA Posts: 23,090
    One more follow up. Mic'ing my drum kit with up to 6 mics total. Would ProTools isolate each mic into its own track (i.e snare mic gets its own track, etc,)? I currently use a Mackie VLZ mixer with 6 XLR inputs. Each input has its own channel on the mixer which is great for EQ & panning, but on GarageBand all 6 mics go into ONE track! It has made tracking drums very difficult.