Options

Looking for low watt tube amp

BHealyBHealy Flagstaff, Arizona Posts: 466
Hey-
I'm shopping for a 10-15 watt tube amp to upgrade from my Fender Mustang. I'm not a pro, but am pretty serious about tone. I was looking at a few (Marshall 15 watt DSL), Fender Blues Junior, etc. Any suggestions? I play lots of PJ (obviously) Neil Young, Zeppelin, Black Keys, bluesy stuff. Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    Blues Jr. is great but I get the same tone with my Frontman 25R. I like my tube hybrid (though they don't make the Fender Roc Pro anymore). The Marshall hyrbid (AVT) is good, too. I get the tube tone without all the headaches of a tube amp. Still, the Blues Jr. is a good one. Also, an Orange Crush is a good idea. The Tube Screamer or Blues Driver (my favorite between the two) also add a LOT to tube drive. If you're into Fender (I am), I like the Pro Jr. I've yet to try the Vaporizer but have heard good things. The Ramparte is good for small practice spaces. If you can find a Princeton Recording amp, that'll be awesome. Some of the more vintage stuff is great (craigslist specials).
    Grand Rapids '04, Detroit '06
    JEFF HARDY AND JEFF AMENT USED TO LOOK THE SAME
    "Pearl Jam always eases my mind and fires me up at the same time.”-Jeff Hardy
  • Options
    Nice! Thanks for the tips! I have a tube screamer that I run into my mustang- I can tweak it to sound pretty good, but I really don't like the controls on the mustang, or the modeling business. Is the Frontman a tube or solid state? I'm pretty new to this stuff, so I appreciate the help.
  • Options
    mccreadyisgodmccreadyisgod Bumfuq, MT Posts: 6,395