Options

Hoping to ditch cable- help please

BronyBrony Posts: 628
edited November 2014 in All Encompassing Trip
I currently have Fios. Almost $300 bills every month for the "Triple Play" bundled along with my Iphone. I would love to only use wifi to watch TV. Is that possible? Im not very tech savvy, I have heard of apple tv....someone told me i can watch recent tv shows on Hulu?.....i stream netflix thru my Wii. Any ways to watch NFL or NBA games? I cant live without RedZone channel. Are there any alternatives? I feel like i am a slave to Verizon. I need to break the chains.

Thanks
Post edited by Brony on

Comments

• Options
    ps- my 2 year "contract" is up next month. no need for 300 channels or a land line phone
  • Options
    pjsteelerfanpjsteelerfan Maryland Posts: 9,883
    My friends recently did the same, only kept internet and the very basic cable. Stream everything through Netflix and Hulu plus. They get basic channels and can watch some games that way. They are pretty happy with it, saved a lot of cash.
    ...got a mind full of questions and a teacher in my soul...
  • Options
    WobbieWobbie Posts: 29,465
    cable bills suck, yes.

but my cheap brother-in-law is trying to cut the cord by streaming, etc. and, I must say, it's less than optimal. channel surfing is non-existent and the TV picture often looks like what it is....a big version of a computer stream.

I do know that he has some ideas in the works to make it better...

roku?
    If I had known then what I know now...

Vegas 93, Vegas 98, Vegas 00 (10 year show), Vegas 03, Vegas 06
    VIC 07
    EV LA1 08
    Seattle1 09, Seattle2 09, Salt Lake 09, LA4 09
    Columbus 10
    EV LA 11
    Vancouver 11
    Missoula 12
    Portland 13, Spokane 13
    St. Paul 14, Denver 14
    Philly I & II, 16
    Denver 22
  • Options
    Indifference71Indifference71 Chicago Posts: 14,744
    Brony said: