Options

Michael Brown Shooting

Comments

• Options
    Gern BlanstenGern Blansten Your Mom's Posts: 17,961

The looting and rioting is nothing more than a bunch of thugs and criminals seizing a window of opportunity and be lawless under the guise of 'protesting'.

If I was a cop trying to deal with this guy... who by all accounts is massive and strong... and after already being defiant with me he makes a move towards me while we are in close proximity... I would hope I would have the courage to defend myself and not be overtaken only to have the gun stuffed up my ass with the 'gentle giant' pulling the trigger till it went click click.

From what I can tell by what I read... there definitely is an element of 'overkill' here that needs to be probed; however, it's fair to say the victim wasn't exactly coming back from the library after a night of studying.

What also needs to be said is the fact that although the cop may not have known Brown had just committed a felony, Brown knew he had... meaning: Brown had a much more intense mentality than the cop initially had in this situation- likely thinking he was being detained and about to be arrested. When people commit crimes and are in the last moments of their freedom... sometimes they resist and sometimes they resist with deadly force.

I don't disagree with any of that but the cop still murdered the kid...he was several feet away from the cop, on the ground, hands in the air, and at least six more shots were fired into his body.

Police are ALLOWED TO SHOOT PEOPLE. If one shot is justified, it doesn't matter how many more were fired. IF the officer felt his life or someone else's life was threatened, the number of shots it takes to take control of the situation isn't relevant. That said, it is wise to wait until the facts are released. To say he murdered the guy without the facts is a pretty bold presumption. IF it is found that the cop didn't need to discharge his weapon at all, then charges should be filed.