turntable help

Comments

• mikerlmikerl Posts: 580
    Im wondering if i can keep this thread going with a little discussion about speakers.

I have always been one of these dudes that "likes the sound of older speaker, man". My last pair were large floor standing Pioneers, with 15 inch woofers. Those are amazing to my ear, but are WAY to big. My Current speakers are made by a small company named "OHM". These things kick ass, and are very detailed in the midrange, but are getting on in age, i have redone the foam surrounds on them, and for the past couple years i have had intermittent problems with one of the speakers cutting in and out, and being low in volume (this is a 3 way speaker, and there is a sizable crossover circuit in it).. i have some electronics experience, but i just don't feel like dealing with it anymore.. bottom line, i think i MAY get a modern speaker, something that will have a long life of maintenance free use ahead of it.

Im thinking something in the 8" or 10" woofer range.

What are old school "record playin'" people using for new speakers, i don't really want some of the super sleek home theater stuff i see out there.
    Hartford 1996, Hartford 1998, Mansfield 1 1998, Mansfield 1 2000, Mansfield 2 2000, Albany 2003, MSG 2 2003, Mansfield 3 2003, Boston 2 2004, Albany 2006, Boston 2 2006, Mansfield 2 2008, Boston 2010, Worcester 1 2013, Worcester 2 2013
  • slinger256slinger256 Victoria Posts: 371
    mikerl wrote:
    Im wondering if i can keep this thread going with a little discussion about speakers.